Lakeville Debate Team (Contributed photo)

Lakeville Debate Team Wins Multiple Awards At Regional Tournament

The Lakeville School Debate Team made an impressive debut at the 2024 Long Island Classic Debate Tournament, hosted by the American Debate League on April 6. In their first-ever appearance at this competition, Lakeville won the top three team awards, four individual speaker awards, and the top overall team trophy.

During the tournament, students compete in teams of three. All three trios from Lakeville placed in the top three, winning first, second, and third place. Additionally, students Sergio Condello, Brady Hoggatt, Chani Hong, and Carolyn Zuo received individual speaker awards. As a result of the students’ outstanding performances, Lakeville was presented with the top overall team award.

Lakeville’s debate program is currently in its second year. The team is comprised of fifth graders Yizheng Chen, Rebecca Cheng, Sergio Condello, Brady Hoggatt, Eunchan (Chani) Hong, Stefanie Kim, Ezra Wang, Junyu (Justin) Zhao, and Carolyn Zuo. Lakeville technology teacher Jean-Marie Reader is the faculty advisor, and fifth-grade teacher Kerry Spatz serves as chaperone and judge.

—Submitted by the
Great Neck Public School District

Just Getting Started

Kevin James Thornton’s super second act

By Amanda Olsen • May 10, 2024


Dining guide-spring
  • No events