Educators Throughout Nassau County Unite To Develop Lessons On Tolerance And Peace

Educators from school districts throughout Nassau County worked in partnership with the Nassau County Council of School Superintendents’ Curriculum Writing Committee during the last several months to develop lessons for students in grades K-12 on tolerance and peace.

On May 13, participating teachers presented their final curriculum writing projects geared at effectively educating students on symbols and speeches of peace and hate, with the goal of ending incidents of hate and discrimination within Long Island schools. During the half-day program that took place at Nassau BOCES Robert E. Lupinskie Center for Curriculum, Instruction and Technology in Westbury, presentations covered the various topics of bias some students face and ways that educators can effectively address this subject with students. The lessons developed will be shared with all districts throughout Nassau County so that every district is consistent in the curriculum being provided in this area.

“We appreciate the dedication and attention to detail given in every curriculum writing project shared today,” said Maria Rianna, president of the Nassau County Council of School Superintendents and the superintendent of the Glen Cove City School District. “Through this shared project, educators have developed innovative ways to create a school environment where respect and inclusiveness are paramount for all students, teachers and staff throughout Nassau County school communities.”

The Nassau County Council of School Superintendents is a professional organization representing 56 Nassau County school districts, including Nassau BOCES. The council extends its appreciation to all educators who served on the Curriculum Writing Committee, as well as committee co-chairs Vincent Randazzo, superintendent of Island Park Public Schools, and Dr. Mary O’Meara, superintendent of the Plainview-Old Bethpage Central School District. The Council also extends its thanks to the following committee members:

•Dr. Ted Fulton, superintendent of Hicksville Public Schools
•Dr. Danielle Gately, superintendent of the East Williston School District
•Dr. Phyliss Harrington, superintendent of Oceanside Union Free School District
•Dr. Lorna Lewis, superintendent of the Malverne Union Free School District
•Dr. Kusum Sinha, superintendent of Garden City Public Schools

—Submitted by Nassau County Council of School Superintendents

Just Getting Started

Kevin James Thornton’s super second act

By Amanda Olsen • May 10, 2024


Dining guide-spring
  • No events